Crunchy Green Salad

an_ideal_lunch_salad

The winter blues always seem to get the best of us this time year especially when we’re teased with a few mild spring-like days and then two days later it’s rainy, cold and gray all over again. When it feels like spring is never coming and each day feels a bit colder and looks a touch grayer I head right to the fridge and pull out the greenest ingredients I have toss them in a bowl and devour. I truly believe in the power of food and how our food choices, good or bad, can affect affect our body in terms of mood, emotional, mental and physical well-being. With that, I choose foods that foster as much goodness as possible for my body, so when my mood is dark and damp just like the weather, I turn to my greens.

I’ve seriously been obsessed with this salad all week, I just can’t get enough of it – it’s crunchy, hearty, creamy, and just so easy to make. I’ve been making a large batch of the dressing and eating it with everything, it’s oh, so amazingly yummy! As for my moods…completely transformed, I feel lighter, refreshed and just all around great.

Crunchy Green Salad

2 handfuls arugula
1 handful shredded romaine lettuce
1 cup cooked chickpeas
1/3 cup toasted sunflower seeds or almonds
10 kalamata olives, chopped
1 small head of broccoli florets, blanched
1 small ripe avocado, sliced

Creamy Tahini Miso Dressing
1/4 cup tahini
1 small shallot, finely diced
1 medium clove garlic, diced
1 tablespoon white miso
1 tablespoon toasted sesame oil
1 tablespoon brown rice vinegar
generous pinch of ground cumin
Salt and pepper, to taste (optional)

Mix all the salad ingredients in a large bowl except the avocado. Once the dressing is whisked and creamy, pour over the salad and toss well. Add avocado slices on top. Serve and enjoy.

Recipe adapted from 101 Cookbooks.
Photo: Heidi Swanson, 101 Cookbooks

Leave a Reply

