Affirming Change

tumblr_mfwgbixIN61r0lzjao1_400“Affirmations are like prescriptions for certain aspects of yourself you want to change”

– Jerry Frankhauser

With Spring Into A New You underway and having clearly stated and set on a goal for yourself it’s important to create positive affirmations around your efforts in achieving your goal. At some point while you work toward springing into a new you you will hit bumps and hiccups along the way that may leave you feeling helpless, defeated or overwhelmed. However, having a positive affirmation will help achieve a sense of safety and hope. An affirmation is a positive statement of positive beliefs and can be used to deflate any negative self-talk that may overload your thoughts, such as: “I’m a failure”, “I can’t do this”, “I already cheated on my detox, it’s over, I’ve messed up”. Use these negative self-talk phrases to create positive affirmations for yourself, such as: “I can do this”, I am capable and ready to achieve my goal” and “I give myself permission to try again and be present”. These statements of positive beliefs are truth and will encourage positive energy in your efforts toward achieving your goals.

What other positive affirmations can you suggests to our fellow readers?

Source: Julia Cameron, The Artist’s Way

Leave a Reply

